I Had Lunch, Just Lunch

The other day I was sitting in a cafe close to the library. I was sick of being in the library–why do they all have that airless feeling no matter how new and modern the architecture? So I ventured out–left my granola bar in the backpack (yes I’m trying to eat healthier and lose some weight–but I’ll write about that in another post) and ended up in this out of the way cafe.

While I was sitting there munching my Cesar’s salad (no chicken or extra toppings) a guy walks up and says hello. I had met him over the weekend when I went out with one of my study buddies (also named John). He was friends with John and had joined us for drinks. I asked him to sit down and he replied that he was going to get a sandwich and read his magazine and that he didn’t want to take me away from my studies.

A few minutes later he walked back to my table and said, “do you still want company”. I said sure, shut my books and started the conversation with “Do you work near here”. The conversation flowed. He talked about the demise of his 9 year relationship with some girl–that he hoped that his drunken behavior on Saturday night wouldn’t affect his friendship with John (the other one). I told him that it was understood.

While listening to him talk, I noticed the way the sunlight caught his eyes. They were absolutely gorgeous and I hoped that my staring would only be interpreted as attentive listening. His smile was amazing and I suddenly realized why all the girls at the bar were attracted to him. To be honest his slurring and stumbling on Saturday night had annoyed me so I didn’t pay that much attention to him.

I began to imagine what it would be like to be on a date with him, you know if this had been a date and not an accidental collision. I wondered what kind of butterflies would have been pounding against the inside of my abdomen, or if the conversation would have flowed as easily given the added stress to impress.

After his finished his meal, he said he had to get back to the office. I shook his hand (nice firm grip) and said good-bye. He said that we all should go out again. The next time he said would be better, that he would be able to converse without slurring.

I watched him walk to his car…nice backside too.

10 Responses to “I Had Lunch, Just Lunch”

  1. srsl Says:

    awesome post… i love that kind of thing, tho’ it’s frustrating if you don’t know which side of the fence he’s on or if he’s diggin’ you… great writing… thanks for coming to my blog, i’ll be back for more of yours as well.

    kyle

  2. Jason Says:

    I love looking into the eyes, can tell a lot about someone.

    So glad you’re back to posting. They are always very thought provoking to me.

  3. Lemuel Says:

    If nothing else, feed on the fantasy (without obsessing). That was a delightful post about a wonderful encounter.

  4. Lemuel Says:

    BTW, I corrected the pointer to your new blog on my blogroll. 🙂

  5. steve Says:

    How exciting to read this post – you’re growing. I’m glad that you’re back John Michael – you were missed!

  6. urspo Says:

    well, will you ask him out at least to talk over a cup of coffee?

  7. Kevin Says:

    nice 🙂

  8. Jim Says:

    Just lunch might turn into just dinner. Intuition will tell if you if its anything more than apologies for questionable behavior.

    Nothing wrong with making nice with someone who has good drive-up appeal 🙂

  9. Stephen Says:

    The intenseness of looking into his eyes gave me butterflies just by reading your words. Maybe there will be more chance meetings to come. Thanks for dropping by and letting me know about your new place, it is good to have you back.

  10. purpletwinkie Says:

    eyes are good. backside is good. chit-chat is good. you seem to be coming out of your shell a lot. it’s nice to see 🙂

Leave a Reply

