Missing You

Is it possible to miss someone that you barely know?

I met someone at the library a little over two months ago. At first we just started talking about these medical boards. Little clips of conversation here and there. But by the end of the week, the conversation turned from “how are you doing” to “what do you do to deal with the stress, I’m so exhausted”.

There was something about him that was different that the pack of friends that he studied with. He seemed to be a part of them, and yet set aside. I could tell that although he fit in with them, there was still something amiss. I began to wonder if he was closeted too. There was just little clues here and there. As we got to know each other, there was a few things that he said that gave me clues. Some of the things I do when I’m around my straight friends.

One day he looked over my shoulders and started to read my review books. I was reading my physical exam book. He said something about patients and doctors flirting. He said it with a smile and just then I noticed that there were green flecks in his eyes and that he had an amazing smile. I stared too long and panicked that he might have noticed. So I said something like patients flirting with physicians is completely unacceptable and vice versa.

He sort of laughed and then said something about getting back to his books.

I asked him if there was something that was stressing him besides the exam one day. He had come up to my desk, laid his head on the side that wasn’t covered with books and said “I’m so exhausted”. The look in his eyes was more than just physical or mental exhaustion. I asked if he was okay and he said he just need to rest for a little bit. I said if there was something wrong, at least he had his friends down here with him to talk to. He said a lot of the reason that he was exhausted has to do with them. And for some reason I thought to myself–he’s at the point in life where I am. He’s tired of pretending.

This has gotten a little long and I’ll continue to write more on this in a different post.

He is leaving this weekend for a rotation in a hospital in a different state. So I was thinking, I’m going to miss him…but I barely know him. Is that even possible?

13 Responses to “Missing You”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    oh, yes, I think it is very possible.

  2. Doug Says:

    You seem really sensitive to people and that is a good thing! You seem very empathic. I think you can miss someone, or miss the chance to get to know that someone better. I sometimes feel like I miss you guys when you aren’t posting, or I wish I could get to know you a little better. Like having an online friend, but not one you can go out with on the weekends. I would like to hear more!

  3. urspo Says:

    sure it’s possible – you are missing him!

  4. steve Says:

    Yes – I think you should ask him to coffee when he returns…TALK about everything but school.

  5. BruceCleveland Says:

    Oh MAN is that very possible…believe me and everyone here…You don’t have to know someone to miss them. After a period of interaction is suddenly gone…it is indeed possible to miss who ever it is. Missing someone is the longing to have them in your life again participating in just the same way they used to before…whether only a week of knowing someone or a lifetime.

    Heck I miss you when you don’t post or e-mail me for a period of time 😉 And I have never met you 🙂

  6. Brad Says:

    Oh yeah, you’re going to miss him….

  7. Matt Says:

    Absolutely possible. With some people, there is some connection or another that exists even before you’ve known the person for very long. And, I think, they generally have the same feeling if that connection is there.

    I’m sorry he’s going away, but keeping in touch with that connection may be worth it …

  8. Daniel Says:

    Why don’t you get to know him before he goes away? He plainly wants to get to know you!

  9. Jim Says:

    Of course it is! Get some contact info before his rotation 🙂

  10. roy Says:

    I don’t think it’s impossible to miss someone with whom you don’t have a close relationship. You’ve come to like your little ‘run ins’ and you’ll miss them while he is away. Pretending to be someone you are not is exhausting. I hope that you guys can become better friends and find out the root of his exhaustion.

  11. Liana Merete Says:

    oh we didn’t care,we made it very clea. Liana Merete.

  12. Andreas Tennyson Says:

    they’ll have you suicidal suicida. Andreas Tennyson.

  13. Kris Says:

    Oh yeah , it is possible. I get like that with some people I only knew for a month, but sadly won’t be able to see any longer. I don’t think it really matters how long you’ve known them, but when one can sense there’s a connection, it’s hard not to miss them.
    I even miss some bloggers and to think I’ve only hang out with some for a day.

Leave a Reply

