Too Much To Think About

I use to take walks or do a run to relax. I remember the serenity of walking along a path that cut through a forest, or taking a jog through the park.

I tried to do this yesterday…not cut through the forest or anything. I’m in Florida and well, I’m terrified of alligators and snakes. I took a run in the early morning. And usually I return refreshed from these runs, tired, but my mind is ready to go again.

This time, I had so much to think about on the run that actually the thinking exhausted me. The run refreshed my body. Usually it’s the opposite. The run exhausts my body and clears my mind. This time my mind was exhausted and my body felt really good.

I’ve just had so much to think about lately. Upcoming exams and life in general. Maybe today’s run (this time on a treadmill) will be much better.

7 Responses to “Too Much To Think About”

  1. roy Says:

    I hope the thinking becomes a lot less daunting and a lot more relaxing… Thinking is one of my favorite things to do. But I’m sure with all the things on your mind, it’s not that much fun.

  2. Lemuel Says:

    Back a few years, when I was able to jog, I had a similar experience. The jogging helped to eat up the energy/tension of the stress and during the jog and afterwards I sensed that I was thinking more clearly and able to deal with my problems more calmly.

    Don’t give up your jog (but do be careful of those ‘gators, they’re snatching more people and dogs these days). I’m sure you will find health rewards in body, mind, and spirit.

  3. Joe Says:

    keeping you in prayers for the exam stuff. Hang in. Keep up the exercising, inside or out.

    Shalom, Joe.

  4. urspo Says:

    alligators? dear me
    i can handle snakes but crocs is another matter!

  5. Doug Says:

    I know what you mean about the thinking exhausting you more than the jog itself. Music sometimes helps me stop thinking. I just focus on the music instead.

  6. Daniel Says:

    I’m giving running a rest until it cools down a bit. I’m trying to do other things for cardio work.

  7. Jim Says:

    I find a smart martini keeps the mind-churn at bay 🙂

Leave a Reply

