Biological Clocks

I’m wondering if men have biological clocks. Many of my male friends don’t seem to have one. If their wives have gotten pregnant, so be it, they are going to be a father. One of my friends even went so far as to say, “well at least it takes the element of surprise out of having sex without a condom”. Later, when his child was born, he was ecstatic and cried as much as the infant did when he took his first breath.

When I speak to my friends with children and they tell me about their days–good or bad– I feel this sudden urge to want a child. I know that I could be a very loving father. I’m already an awesome uncle. The only thing that worries me is that I don’t have complete control of my own life, how could I pour someone else into the mix? There are so many other things I have yet to do. Probably first and foremost is get my career on track. Although it’s already rolling, I think I would like to be established before I jump into parenthood mode. And of course I’ve got to fall in love. Not that I wouldn’t be able to be a single father, but I think that I would want to experience a little bit of life before I can teach it to my children.

And then of course I wonder about the perils of being a single parent. Just so many things to think about. But I know that every time I speak to one of my friends about their parenthood, I hear a little bit of tick-tock!

9 Responses to “Biological Clocks”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    My primary caution to *anyone* who is considering parenthood is that they become parents for the right reason: the child. I see far too many families for which the children are “trophies” or else they are just a way to get other family members and friends off their backs (“When are you going to have [grand]children?”). For others, children are just the accidental/incidental production of hormones gone wild. In all such cases the children are “in the way” and are unwanted and unloved, but sadly they are still living breathing human beings.

  2. Doug Says:

    No kids for me, thanks. Along the same lines as what you said, I can barely dress myself much less take care of someone else. To bring another life into this world, into this society, would drive me insane. I would snap under the weight of responsibility. That’s just my morbid $0.02.

  3. KipEsquire Says:

    Men don’t have physical biological clocks. Psychological or emotional clocks are another matter altogether.

    We do, however, tend to have mid-life crises. =/

  4. Albert Says:

    I did years ago wish I had a kid, but that was short lived!! If I had one now, I would be collecting old age pension by the time it finished school ICK!!!

  5. R.O.Y Says:

    I am not the norm. I want kids. I always have. I don’t want to have a Jolie-Pitt-sized brood, but I do want one, maybe two. I don’t apologize for wanting kids, and if some of us don’t, I don’t harass them or tell them that they’re missing out. I just hate when I get the, “I really pity you” looks from friends when they find out my aspirations for parenthood….I was a foster kid and plan on being a damn good parent and give my child the life I never had. Go for your dreams. When it’s right, you’ll have a child.

  6. urspo Says:

    no one is ever really prepared for raising children
    I concur though it is easier to do when you are younger.
    all that running around!

  7. Jim Says:

    Not for me. I love my neices but after 3 days I am more than happy to leave them with with my sister.

    I know a few single dads, they seem to be happy!

  8. Daniel Says:

    In this era, it usually takes much longer to get one’s life settled and established. Maybe that’s why people are waiting later to have children. I hope you do have children, but I think Spo’s right; children are for the young and energetic.

  9. BruceCleveland Says:

    Why be a single parent when you can find someone loving and caring who would want to raise a child with you?

Leave a Reply

