Straight Crushes

Wow, it’s been quite awhile since I’ve written a post. I’ve been quite busy and I apologize for not visiting any blogs or even keeping my own updated.

My very own Canadian crush and I were discussing a certain topic the other day. I had told him that I’ve never had a crush on any of my close intimate friends. When I entered into the friendship, I had known that they were straight and it would never go anywhere beyond friendship. It never entered my mind to lust after them, or to even use their images for those late night relaxation massage therapies that a single man has to turn to in order to de-stress.

I don’t know how many people actually have crushes on their friends. I do know that some of the female friends I have say that they have crushes on their male friends. Of course, many of my straight male friends say that a platonic  friendship between a male and female does not exist. Their reasoning of course is that they eventually will bed their female friends.

I do have crushes on some straight acquaintances though. There have been some classmates that have caught my eye and have been the leading roles of some fantasy. However, I think once I’ve stepped over the line of friendship, those feelings disappear.

I don’t see my friends as objects of lust. I do see them as who they are to me. They are people who have made me laugh. They have made me cry. They sit silently when they need to and talk up a storm when I need them to. They listen to talk about my day and they want to tell me about theirs. If I told them I am gay, would they be able to understand that all I ever wanted from them was their friendship.

6 Responses to “Straight Crushes”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    One reaction among my straight acquaintances that I find amusing is they think that every gay guy wants to get into their pants. I find it curiously egotistical. It is the basis of much of their homophobia, but they cannot seem to understand that a lot of us have zero sexual interest in them.

  2. roy Says:

    I have definitely had crushes on straight male friends. However, I have never, nor would I eve make a move on them. I know their intentions, and they know mine. My friends think it’s cute that I like them actually. I wouldn’t be friends with anyone who wasn’t secure with themselves or were homophobic. But I can definitely see your point!

  3. Jim Says:

    Your friends will understand. By definition.

    I have found some straight male friends attractive but in the same non-sexual way I find some of my female friends attractive. What I find amusing is when you tell the straight male friends that they are not your type and they ask “why not?” lol

  4. BruceCleveland Says:

    What lemuel says…I have come upon more often than not…the moment I meet a straight guy and he is told I am gay…his first comment to me is always…”Oh I think it’s cool you are gay, I don’t have a problem with it…just don’t try to jump my bones…I’m straight.” Excuse me, but I don’t jump on every guy I come in contact with! It irritates me to no end and usually just laugh it off and never revisit the topic again or the person. But as friends go…no, I have no crushes on my straight guy friends…I don’t have many to begin with. I do have a crush on one or two gay guy friends…and one I have actually have had sex with 🙂

  5. Daniel Says:

    I have had some huge crushes on straight guys, which always turned out disastrously. With one or two, there was some fun to be had before it went sour. But Lem is right, I think. Guys assume you want to jump on them.
    My problems have been more with women having crushes on me and getting angry that I didn’t reciprocate.
    People tend to think that others are mirroring their feelings far more than is actually the case.

  6. Kris Says:

    It’s funny how straight guys think that all gay guys would want to jump them. Ya know, you’d be actually surprised. I’ve told a few of my straight military friends and it was no biggie for me, one even said he wished I would have told him sooner.

    I’ve never had a crush on a straight friend. Maybe when I just first meet them, but after we become friends, the thought of even getting intimate with them doesn’t cross my mind, at all.

Leave a Reply

