I Am Not Alone

Just a few minutes ago, I was checking my email, when Brad from Southern Expressions came on-line and we chatted for a bit. Before I said goodnight, I asked as always how Justin was doing. Brad said he was fine, just on his way home from rehearsal. So as I got ready to log off, I checked Justin’s blog. He had a clip of a really good video.

The clip is set to one of my favorite songs. And the story told by the actors is a beautiful one.

This scene made me realize that although I am alone in the sense I don’t have a boyfriend, I’m not alone personally. I have God. No matter what my struggle or the obstacles placed in front of me, God will be there to turn those mountains into dust, creating a pathway for me to walk through life.

I have always been a religious person. I have found comfort in the solace of prayer and in my faith. And many times in my life, I’ve turned to prayer and to having conversations with God. These prayer sessions and conversations have helped me through many tough times and I’m sure they will help me throughout my life.

If you have some time, check out the clip Justin has placed on his blog Under Red Light.

7 Responses to “I Am Not Alone”

  1. Nathan Says:

    Hey there John,

    I hadn’t talked to you in awhile, and your comment on my blog inspired me to stop by and say hello, and this was the first post I saw.

    It’s rare that I see a gay man talk about religion. I think a lot of our community loses faith in it because of the way it is twisted and used against them. It’s refreshing to see that you still have faith, and that you use it for your strength. That’s nice 🙂

    I’m sorry you don’t have a boyfriend, but you are right… you’re not alone.

    I’ll go check out that video you mentioned on Justin’s blog now.

    Take care buddy,

    Nathan

  2. BruceCleveland Says:

    Funny…you (not you you…but you general) can be told over and over you are not alone…and still not feel it. But then just randomly come across something with the same intentions…suddenly you realize you AREN’T alone…there is always someone there for you…no matter who it is.

  3. Daniel Says:

    I’m a believing person, too. I’m in a process of separating what is real from what people have told me is real. It’s difficult, but rewarding.

  4. Steven Says:

    Nice to know that “I am not alone” when it comes to finding another religious gay man.

    Nice video that Justin had!

  5. arkano18 Says:

    I’m not religious.
    I was raised a catholic, and I decided not being it anymore.
    Though, I’m still missing to believe.

    You will never be alone. Gos is a powerful ally, and you’ll always be protected if you really believe in Him.

    And, you’re never alone. Because there are some people who thinks of you even when they’re not there with you. Have a nice nice day.

    And remember, you’re not alone 😀

  6. matty03 Says:

    Feeling alone is such a scary sort of perception. And, as you point out — it is just that.

    None of us are alone.

    I’m glad you have the comfort and blessing of God to watch over you.

    And, I can tell you have a small army of friends who are there for you as well.

    Isn’t it a Sondheim song that advises, “No one is alone” …Into the Woods I think.

    Am I gay or what?!?!?

  7. BruceCleveland Says:

    Matty….it’s from Into the Woods…and that song ran through my mind as I typed my reply earlier 🙂

Leave a Reply

