I’m Back, Sort Of

Sorry I haven’t been visiting blogs or posting anything lately. This past week I’ve been hanging out with my cousins.

It’s funny how growing up I felt so close to them. We shared dreams and secrets. We stood up for each other, whatever the drama and dilemma that life had brought and mostly leaned on one another.

But we’re grown up now. Gone are the innocent days. Poof went some of the dreams.

I really wish that I could share with them, the same thoughts, aspirations and dreams that I share with you guys. I wish I could tell them about my buddy Mr. Canada and tell them he has a nice smile, a soothing voice and makes me laugh out loud, sometimes so long that my stomach hurts. I wish I could tell them that I’m never going to fall in love with a woman.

But when you are grown up, words don’t come so easily. And when you are grown up, you don’t see each other in simple dimensions. Things are so complex right now. The people I want to lean on may not offer enough strength for me to lean on.

Wouldn’t it be nice if problems melted like the popsicles we shared on sunny days?

6 Responses to “I’m Back, Sort Of”

  1. Jason Says:

    I like the idea of problems melting!

    It is tough when you wish friends/family thought the same way you do. I guess another aspect of being an adult is that you learn you cannot make people think a certain way. It’s either there, or it isn’t. You do have friends that you can relate to and lean on, so don’t forget that. All is not lost 😉

  2. Paul Says:

    In the future, you may rarely see your cousins. However you’ll always that bond of growing up as part of the same family. It’s part of your heritage. The challenge is to be accepting of each other. You’re not likely to like all of their future spouses and friends. Don’t let it bother you.

  3. Lemuel Says:

    This year is bringing significant changes to the “in-law” side of our house. My own sons are feeling the loss of comforting customs and “rituals” and realizing that relationships are to be relished in the present and treasured in memories.

  4. Zachary Says:

    Maybe just slip them the URL to your blog? Or maybe because you write so well, put your words into an email and send it off to them.

  5. Brad Says:

    The last half of this post is some of the best writing you’ve ever done, John.

  6. Steven Says:

    John, you put it in the best words. And I think every one of us shares in those thoughts and also miss those moments. Now that my parents are back from Germany, I want to tell them about Mr. Texas and where we have progressed. Yes, there’s been progression. I want to be able to celebrate holidays with those that I love and not have to settle with quasi-holidays. We (you and us) yearn together! 😀

Leave a Reply

