A Sort Of Meme

The Greedy Maelstrom had tagged me awhile ago and I’m just getting around to posting this now. How lazy have I been.
I’m going to revise this post (but I am sticking to the main rules. I’m not going to tag anyone but you are welcome to do this meme if you feel like it). Lemuel, I am so honored that you picked me to write something like this and that you felt confident enough to name me as one of the three you tag. Thank you–it always feels good to have some recognition in Blogland.

Here are the rules of the original meme:

1) Post a note about a blogger you would like to see something wonderful happen for. Maybe one whose posts have touched your heart in one way or another. Include details as to why you admire them and what you wish for them. Be as supporting and affirming as you can.

2) Post your favorite memory around selflessness, giving, or doing for others. Something that has actually changed you.

3) As a postscript, name one thing you will actually do for someone in your life before December 31 that is born out of joy.

4) Tag 3 other bloggers who will play the game and find the spirit. Don’t forget to leave a comment on their blog so they continue to share the good feelings.

There are several bloggers who have been instrumental in my journey. However there is one special one who really makes me shine. I have several wishes for him. The most important wish is that this person be happy. He recently started blogging and his posts have been as instrumental as his emails have been.

Steven of Sooo-this-is-me is one blogger who has let me be me. I remember when he first wrote me an email asking me questions which I haven’t asked myself. And with these emails, he got me to think about who I am and who I want to be. He also affirmed that my feelings were not new, the insecurity I was feeling was not isolated. He made me feel less alone and a part of a blossoming group. He is the reason that I opened up to some of my friends both in blogland as well as my non-blogger friends. This guy has become one of the best friends I’ll ever have.

My wish is that he finds the same strength from a friend. I wish that he finds the joy that he has given me. I wish that he fall asleep with a smile on his face and that he wakes up with the same smile. I wish that he’ll never know heartbreak and that he’ll have the happiness that he has given many bloggers who frequent his blog. Most of all I hope that he knows that somewhere out there, people like me keep him in their thoughts and prayers.

2. There are many different projects that have changed my life. I have volunteered for several organizations over my lifetime and all of them have given me much more than I have felt I have offered to them. I have realized that I have so many blessings in my life which others don’t have. I have family and friends who love me. I have also been blessed with many other aspects in my life.

While I was in undergrad, I volunteered at a community hospital for the pediatrics ward. There were many children in there who were terminally ill, some of whom were lonely because their parents had to work in order to pay for the mounting bills. For the better part of the day, they had to sit alone in their rooms occupying themselves with video games or coloring books.

I always tried my best to make them smile, to challenge them in their video games or to help them finish their unfinished art projects. There was one child in particular who never smiled. This child sat on the bed and looked wistfully out the window patiently waiting for one or both parents to arrive in the evening. The child would only turn to acknowledge me, but then turn back to look out the window.

One day the floor had a party for all the children on the floor. I walked to this child’s room and offered an invitation. I got a nod and then the child jumped down, took my hand and led me to the party room. When we walked into the room, the kid moved to sit in a corner and watch the festivities. When this child saw the other children a smile formed. The kids eyes lit up and then stood up and started shaking everyone’s hands.

I guess all the kid needed was to know there were others out there for support. From that day on, whenever I would pass the child’s room, I would be asked to play a game or the kid would ask me to find other kids to play with. The child soon recovered and went home.

3. I love donating around this time of year for organizations that will give presents for less fortunate children. I wish I had the money to do this more often. This year the ornament I picked off the giving tree asked for a present for a one year old child. I hope that this child will feel the love that his/her parents have, the courage they had to even ask for help. I hope that he/she knows that even on the coldest of winter mornings, the hearts of many are full of warmth.

Wishing you all a joyous holiday. Spread the warmth to everyone around you.

5 Responses to “A Sort Of Meme”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    I knew I picked a winner when I tagged you! 🙂

  2. diamondfistwerny Says:

    Great MeMe and thanks for sharing. I’m proud to say that I started this thingie!!!!! http://diamondexperiment.wordpress.com/2007/12/11/secret-santa-meme/

  3. urspo Says:

    i have to hand it to you; i started in peds and found it way too emotional to do. i admire you for doing so !

  4. Doug Says:

    Beautiful post.

  5. Steven Says:

    I’m not tearing up reading this, just some dust got into my eyes that’s all, not being mushy about this, nope not me. Funny but I think you have that in reverse John, you are the one that made me feel good about myself, enough that I could start to come out, plus begin writing a blog. I think you are one of the closest friends I have ever had. I wish for all good things to come your way as well.

Leave a Reply

