Stress

This past week I’ve been under a lot of stress. For some reason I feel more stressed now than I did in medical school. I’ve sent out some applications for residency programs and waiting for the response is killing me. It all goes back to that insecure nag which is tugging at me–not being good enough.

My cousins have been here, but they noticed the mood swings and have mainly kept quiet or have gone out. I hope I’m not the reason that they’ve gone otu every night since they’ve been here. Hopefully it’s because they are on vacation and enjoying being away from the north (although we’ve had temperatures in the low 60’s and even 50’s this week).

I’ve tried alleviating the stress by going to the gym and using the stair-stepper and treadmill. And for the time being while I’m exercising and my body is caught up in getting itself into shape, I forget about all the worries. But when I come home to check my email and see that there are not yet any responses, I feel the weight once again on my shoulders.

Arggh!!

9 Responses to “Stress”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    The gym is a good approach! Although my experience waiting for replies to job applications reminds me of how stressful these kinds of waits are. Best of wishes for an early and positive reply from the programs that you want.

  2. Steven Says:

    Like Lemuel, the e-mails I’m waiting for are from potential employers. But you are addressing it the right way by getting your mind off the matter. Best wishes to finding an e-mailbox full by next week! And I hope you get residency where you want to be! 🙂

  3. Matt Says:

    The gym is definitely a great approach – spending time doing something good for you instead of worrying. I know waiting can be awful – but you’ll get your answers when they come and then you’ll move on in one way or another. My best thoughts are with you.

  4. Zachary Says:

    I agree with Lemuel and Matt, the gym is the best answer. You are good enough, and even if you don’t believe it right now, staying at home and worrying about it isn’t going to change anything. It’s out of your hands. The applications have been sent, you gave your all. Just keep busy, keep your mind off of it, and it will come. We all have faith.

  5. Steve Says:

    I guess that it is just normal to be anxious for waiting. Think of something-not your regular routine that might help

  6. atomicpop! Says:

    i can only imagine how frustrating. try to do things you enjoy to keep your mind off it and set limits for checking email. twice a day – 9am & 4pm. no more no less.

  7. urspo Says:

    physical work out is excellent for stress but do something about how you see/cope with things. relaxation techniques and breathing are useful
    as is gin.

  8. somewhere joe Says:

    Something will turn up, John, probably when your anxiety recedes. In my experience the right kind of passionate desire can draw something to you, as can a sort of peaceful acceptance, not indifference exactly, but close to it. Open hands.

    Can you join your cousins in some of their outings?

  9. Robert Says:

    Aah, good news or bad news, I hope you hear something soon. But in the end, it’s all good. Y’know? 🙂 Thanks for dropping by my place! I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

