The People In Your Neighborhood

Today in mass, during the sermon my priest said that personality differences in people should not be used to alienate, but rather unite. He said that these differences help to create a strong society. I always feel God speaking to me whenever I hear messages like this.

It made me think of that song “Who Are The People In Your Neighborhood” from Sesame Street. The lyrics goes through the different types of people that make up society. The song shows all these people living happily together and helping one another through life.

I think that it takes all kinds of people to make a society. These differences in us, help to make life interesting. We can learn from one another and help one another out with our different life experiences.

One of the reasons I feel I have stayed in the closet is because I feel that outing myself would suddenly change the way that other people feel about me, how they view my accomplishments and basically their views of me as a person. I feel like I have contributed in a positive manner, but that suddenly this might be downplayed if were to admit out loud that I am a gay man. And being gay shouldn’t matter. It is a characteristic that is an inherent part of my genetic make-up, a part of me as a person. It isn’t something that any of us chose. It should be something that we should be proud of…something that we should be able to share.

Hopefully someday others will be able to see that we are part of the people in the neighborhood.

(This was better worded in my head on the way home from mass).

8 Responses to “The People In Your Neighborhood”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    I wish that Fred Phelps would hear that same message from God!

  2. Robert Says:

    “One of the reasons I feel I have stayed in the closet is because I feel that outing myself would suddenly change the way that other people feel about me, how they view my accomplishments and basically their views of me as a person.”

    Or maybe when you do come out, people will see you and all your accomplishments in a different light… and it is BECAUSE you’re gay! And if friends and peoples’ objection of me for simply being me, then they’re no friends of mine at all.

    My 2 cents. 🙂 Good Monday!!

  3. atomicpop! Says:

    i think it was very well said!

  4. urspo Says:

    biology and history all support diversity as a means of survival and safety in nature from disaster. History shows when cultures are monotonal they made dreary cultures indeed.
    people will alter their view of us no matter what we say or do, so coming out is probably no exception/no different really.

  5. beartoast "Joe" Says:

    I can’t control what others think or how they will react. I have come to discover that how I feel about myself is ultimately more important. That’s the feeling I will live with the longest.

  6. Zachary Says:

    I’d be happy to have you as my neighbor. NYC or Bust.

  7. Steven Says:

    They are more and more communities and places where you feel comfortably a part of it. We are living in one of them where people are not defined by gay or straight but enjoy the difference that each individual brings to the community. You will find one of your own.

  8. Steven Says:

    Great view John and I agree 100%. Think how boring we would be if we were all the same! And I echo Zachary’s sentiments. The unfortunate thing is that “urban planner” has too many syllables in it to fit in with the Sesame Street song, so I may be somewhat of an outcast. 😉 Maybe I’ll just go with “planner?”

Leave a Reply

