The Shattering of the Foundation

Atomic Pop wrote about an old band reuniting. I only know one song of theirs and his post brought back a tucked away memory.

Years ago, one of my college friends and I were going through a box of things her cousin had forgotten in their college apartment. Among the veritable items was a mixed tape. We didn’t give the cassette a second thought until one night when we were tired of memorizing some biochemistry. Retrieving the cassette from the box, we had to go down to her car to play it. Her stereo-system only had a CD player.

The song on it was from Yaz. We were charmed by the carnival sound of the electric piano and played the song a few times while driving around campus. Looking up this song on youtube brought back the memory in vivid color. I could even smell her perfume. This is probably the closest I will ever get to falling in love with a girl. If I were straight, I knew that this definitely was a chick I would be dating. The only problem for me, my pipes don’t unclog because of her.

All my roommates assumed that we were dating. They figured no two people of the opposite sex could spend this much time together and not be “doing it”. I didn’t correct them and I didn’t deny it either. It helped me to live the facade that I was living–helped me to safely remain in the closet. I even liked the times that she would fall asleep in my room from studying and even though we slept side-by-side, that’s all we did.

The day finally came when she met someone. I remember how excited she was telling me all about him. It felt like we were breaking up. All I could think about was how I was going to explain to my friends that the woman I was supposedly dating had some other guy’s tongue in her mouth. I was really happy for her, but in a selfish way wanted to keep her for myself.

As I drove home that night, I kept thinking this is it, I’m going to be alone. I remember pulling into my apartment driveway and as the Yaz song blared from my car stereo, the first tear fell. And you know after that first tear falls, there are only more to follow. What made the situation worse was my roommate standing on our balcony. He saw my car and gestured for me to hurry up. He wanted me to come up and have a cigarette with him.

I made my way up our balcony and he must have sensed something was wrong because he put out his cigarette and walked over to me. He put his arm on my shoulder and asked. I started to sob and he said “you broke up didn’t you”? And as the tears started to fall he locked me in a bear hug.

What he didn’t know was the reason I was crying. I was crying because I felt like I was going to be alone and that being inside the closet was cold, despite all the winter jackets and sweaters stored in there.

He said one of the kindest things I have ever heard a friend say. When I pushed away (pretending to not need the hug) he said, “Nope, I gave the hug first and it’s up to me when the hug ends”. I realized that you don’t need sweaters, jackets, scarves or gloves to stay warm. You just need the love of a good friend. I knew I would be telling this friend one day all about me…

13 Responses to “The Shattering of the Foundation”

  1. Paul Says:

    What a great saying about the hug! I’ve got to remember that.

  2. Jim Says:

    Thats a great memory. You have picked some good friends! (And now I am going to have to drag out my Yaz CD 🙂

  3. Lemuel Says:

    Wow! What a great story! and what a great friend! I hope he’s still hugging you to this day.

  4. Robert Says:

    Yes on what Lemuel said… are you still friends with the girl and the boy? Which Yaz song was it in particular? It would’ve been ironic if it was ‘Don’t Go’! heh! One of my faves from Yaz is Winter Kills.

    TGIT! 🙂

  5. Steven Says:

    That is the sweetest thing I ever heard from a straight guy to another guy, none of my friends at that age would ever have said that. I feel for you buddy, one of my biggest worries was I would grow old and alone.

    I used to get Yaz and Erasure mixed up all the time, liked them both! BTW Erasure’s singer is a brother! 😉

  6. Matt Says:

    Please tell me you two are still buddies. That’s such a great thing to say. I wish I had someone like him as a friend.

  7. steve'swhirlyworld Says:

    Catching up – I’m glad you’re still around.

  8. Steven Says:

    Talk about tears! What a beautiful post and I love that saying that your friend shared. When that day comes, I know your friend will say in a concerned and meaningful manner, “Why didn’t you tell me sooner?” He could actually be a great confidant. If he isn’t already. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, John!

  9. matty03 Says:

    This was an amazing post.

    …the world is lucky to have you in it.

  10. rodger Says:

    Great post but having to retreat to the car to play a cassette because the stereo only had a cd makes me feel terribly old. I remember buying my first cd player while my old Toyota pickup still had an 8-track player. Sad.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I look forward to reading more of yours.

  11. Doug Says:

    You really have a nice way of telling a story. I grew up liking Yaz too. I am glad that you got a hug. We all need more of them.

  12. Jason Says:

    I found myself in a similar situation with a close (girl) friend that I had from 1st grade all the way to senior year. Yay for YAZ!

  13. XRumerIsTheBest Says:

    Доброго времени суток, форумчане сайта openawindow.wordpress.com 😉

    Ответьте мне, пожалуйста, на несколько вопросов…
    – какая программа умеет автоматически за НЕСКОЛЬКО СЕКУНД регистрировать ящики на mail.ru и многих других почтовиках?
    – какая программа умеет автоматом рассылать по mamba.ru и loveplanet.ru по заданным параметрам, при этом еще поддерживая функции автоответчика?
    – а также сможет разослать по форумам текст (например) “где купить валенки?”, а потом в ответ на этот текст ОТ ДРУГОГО имени и IP написать (например) “только на сайте megavalenki.ru!”?
    – плюс распознаёт картинки и вопросы а-ля “что написано на этой картинке?”, “сколько будет 2+2?” и “какой сейчас год?” и умеет корректно на них отвечать?
    – какая программа сможет разослать топики по форумам, попутно автоматически регистрироваться на них и создавая подробный отчет о проделанной работе?
    – и при этом работает с разнообразными движками – phpBB, VBulletin, IPB, ExBB, Icon Board, YaBB, UltimateBB, множеством различных гостевых, досок и блогов?
    – какую программу вы МОЖЕТЕ переделать под свой вкус?
    – какая программа автоматически обновляет прокси / SOCKS, обеспечивая вам полную анонимность? (достаточно просто нажать ОДНУ кнопку)
    – какая программа умеет рассылать персональные сообщения всем пользователям форумов phpBB, IPB, VBulletin?
    – какая программа отсортирует Вашу базу ссылок по Google PageRank?
    – какая программа МАССОВО отредактирует все Ваши ранее разосланные объявления по форумам?
    – и при этом еще регулярно обновляется и совершенствуется.

    Ответ ОДИН: всё это и многое другое под силу программному комплексу XRumer 4.085 Platinum Edition + Hrefer 2.85
    Данный комплекс имеет множество отзывов на авторитетных источниках (Washington Post, Wikipedia и т.п.), имеет историю активного развития более 3-х лет.

    Просто спроси у Яндекса! 😉

    См. также: XRumer Platinum, распознавание графической защиты, линкспам, PPC, чёрное СЕО, программы для SEO, ППЦ, белое СЕО, хрумер 2.9 устарел, постинг, постинг по блогам, XRumer 3.0 устарел, SEO, распознавание капчи, софт для СЕО, рассылка по форумам, XRumer, мощная спамилка, программы для СЕО, массовые рассылки, софт для SEO, дорвеи, black SEO, рефспам, разослать по форумам и гостевым, white SEO, doorways, XRumer 2.9 устарел, распознавание текстовой защиты, XRumer forever, суперсофт для SEO, СЕО

Leave a Reply

