A Flicker of Hope

I got an email today which was in hindsight somewhat cheesy. First of all it was one of those emails that had an attachment to it (I’m superstitious so when I get one of these “must forward” emails I usually end up forwarding it with an apology opening and explanation that I felt I must forward it). The fact that in order to find love, that love would come in the form of a phone call or a knock at the door, a sudden chance all due to the forwarding of this email is a little ludicrous. But of course the part that stated if I didn’t forward it I would be all alone struck a cord with me.

Personally I know that love isn’t going to ring my doorbell. I’m not expecting any company and the mailman places all mail into a mailbox. Besides I’ve seen the mailperson and no thank you (not that I’m being picky but she has breasts). I’m not expecting any packages, but if I were I wouldn’t mind the delivery guy…wow talk about legs and biceps!! The only problem is the guy would have to impress me beyond the physical. I admit that a beautiful physical form is a turn on, but if a person really wants to get me going, for me it’s about conversation. I’m not referring to dirty talk, I’m talking about a real connection. This aphrodisiac is the type that gets me knock-kneed. It makes me melt into a puddle of goo.

So in a small effort to prevent myself from being alone, I forwarded this email which has brought love to all those who have forwarded it. I’m not crossing my fingers or holding my breath. I would get carpel tunnel syndrome from keeping my hands in such a position for a long time. Everyone who has met me knows that I can’t hold my breath for very long so that wouldn’t work.

I just wish it was as romantic as it is in the movies…a stranger across a crowded room, a smile, a whispered hello and the momentary hesitation to ask for a date. I feel like one of those wall flowers at a dance who get to watch everyone else spin under the glitter and paper mache decorations. I’m sure I’ll get the chance once I get the rest of my life in order. Until then, the email has been sent out so that I don’t have two years of bad luck in love.

6 Responses to “A Flicker of Hope”

  1. Robert Says:

    So I guess body language won’t do eh? πŸ™‚

    Breasts?!? DOH!

    Hope you’re having a great day JM!! xoxo

  2. Lemuel Says:

    Because of my refusal to send such emails on, I am so far “in debt” with years of bad luck in love that it no longer makes any sense to send any of them on. Let’s see… if I live to 529, I wonder if the hunky delivery guy would still be interested. πŸ™‚

    May you find the love of your life with our without email forwards.

  3. Jim Says:

    I have a filter on my Outlook that sends those emails to a “special” folder πŸ™‚ I’m sure it will find you when the time is right! And keep in mind there are far worse things in life than being un-coupled!

  4. Steven Says:

    So you’re the one who sent that e-mail?! Just kidding!
    Every now and then there’s the superstitious side of me, but I would never want to do that to others. I grimace at the e-mails that I DO receive that say not only must you forward it, but the person who sent it to you must be cc’d as well. So what I usually do is send the e-mail back to him/her as a “bcc” and only send it to that person. Keep that “flicker of hope” alive! “We are haunted by an ideal life, and it is because we have within us the beginning and the possibility of it.” – Phillips Brooks

  5. matty03 Says:

    Well, I have love, but I NEVER forward that stuff.

    …this could explain a lot.

  6. Matt Says:

    John, I hope you meet him in a perfect romantic-comedy way. It doesn’t happen often, but you just seem like the kinda guy that deserves it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

