Glass Homes and Stones

I have always been reminded of the old saying “people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones”. I haven’t always lived by this rule. In fact there were times that I threw out accusations in order to cover up my own inadequacies. My own insecurities were manifested when I despised these qualities in other people. Many times I unearthed my own faults, my weaknesses and the cracks in my self-esteem by taking inventory of all that I say about others.

In the wake of what has happened to a political figure, I realize that these secrets that we bury deeply will often be unearthed. Many express shock at these revelations. I’ve begun to realize that those who speak the loudest against an issue are those who want to direct traffic down a different pathway. They try to convince others of their by pointing fingers. I wonder sometimes who they really want to convince, others or their own conscience.

I am not any better. I myself have tried to shatter the glass that protects another’s dignity. But I’ve learned that many times these hurls are boomerangs and come back to create cracks and chips in my own delicate wall.

8 Responses to “Glass Homes and Stones”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    Very true!

    In a somewhat similar vein, I am always made cautious by the folk saying that we become like what we most hate.

  2. Robert Says:

    A lot of times we dig our own graves and sooner or later, we eventually lie in it.

    As for a glass house, I think I live in a house of mirrors. 😉 Hope you’re having a great night JM.

  3. Steve Says:

    You’re so right. It’s called projection.

  4. "Joe" Says:

    And it hath also been said, “What we most dislike in others is usually what we most dislike in ourselves.”

    Often those things show us part of our “Shadow.” Ask Ur-Spo about such, he’s far more knowledgable than I.

    Those things we dislike about ourselves also can have great power. I’m learning that accepting those things can help me harness their power for good. That’s what they tell me, anyway.

  5. Steven Says:

    That was one of the things I had to work on the most about accepting myself, I had to accept others first and learn to enjoy the huge differences of the people in the gay community. Once I did this, I now feel like it is a club that I want to be part of. You have come so far John and it shows you are willing to grow as a person, keep going buddy! 😉

  6. matty03 Says:

    I don’t disagree, but I’m always puzzled by folks in public service/politics who think that they can get away with that stuff anymore.

    In our media-frenzied world — politicians and entertainers have to know that they are really under a microscope.

    Not saying it is right, but it is so painfully true.

    To be in such a high spot — the spot which ultimately makes decisions about the right and wrong of citizens — that glass better stay clean.

    Or, am I thinking of the wrong thing? lol!

  7. urspo Says:

    i try not to do anything for which i would feel shame if brought to light – and that means sometimes merely not being ashamed at things i choose to do – rather than ‘not doing them’.
    not being ashamed at anything you are or do is a liberating state of being.

  8. Steven Says:

    It was something that I have had to TRY TO live by for a very long time, first because of physical shortcomings, and then after I “came out.” But what worries me now is that I have become superstitious about the “bad things that happen to me” after I ask myself, “What did I do to deserve this?” A weird admission but I can so relate.

    I have a hunch, though, that you will not need much Spackle to take care of those “cracks and chips.” 😉

Leave a Reply

