Getting Into A Groove

I am not sure if I had written about this before. Recently (about two months) I have become good friends with a bunch of guys. I met one of the guys Mike through a gay friend  I met at the gym. Mike, like me, is also closeted. We instantly bonded after meeting.

Both of us were on this journey of acceptance and also finding ourselves. We spent lots of nights talking about how we’ve dealt with out feelings, our ups and downs. It has been really good to be able to hear that I’m not alone on this emotional rollercoaster. I’m not really sure what I would have done without him these past few weeks. 

About a month ago, Mike suggested we go to this gay bar and we did. It was a bit overwhelming at first–from some guy smacking my butt as I tried to make my way to the bathroom to trying to differentiate being flirted with or just some guys striking up friendly conversation. I’m really thankful I had Mike there with me.

And from this bar visit, Mike and I got to meet Ben and Josh. I have become really good friends with these guys. We meet several times a week, just for coffee, appetizers or dinner. I’m so lucky to have found them and to have them on this journey into finding my groove.

7 Responses to “Getting Into A Groove”

  1. Steven Says:

    Woo hoo! Good for you buddy! I am so glad you are not alone anymore on this journey. It will do you good to have gay friends you can talk things over with. You are really coming alone since the shy guy hiding in the closet, so proud of you! Now you just need to work on finding someone to date! 😉

  2. Doug Says:

    That is just awesome. I hope your network of friends continues to grow.

  3. Lemuel Says:

    That is super, JM! I am so very happy for you!! I hope the friendships blossom and flourish!!

  4. "Joe" Says:

    Friendship is good! Really very supremely good. The road is hard enough to travel, companions help double the joy and divide the sorrows.” Keep it up. And did you smack his butt back? Try it, you might like it!

  5. urspo Says:

    smack in the butt? beginnings luck!
    I am glad you are networking!

  6. Steve Rebooted Says:

    That’s great! I think you’ve found a perfect companion, for yourself!

  7. Steven Says:

    What great news to hear! And here’s to more friends and a larger network of friends to have good times and conversation with. And who knows….maybe the next guy who “smacks your butt” will catch your eye? 😉

Leave a Reply

