Homesick

I have never been homesick. I have always adjusted pretty well to anywhere I’ve gone. My first year of college, I missed my family and I missed high school. But there wasn’t any sort of aching. When I got to medical school–the same thing, I missed my old schedule and of course friends and family. But I managed with email, letters and phone calls.

Today as I sit in this cafe, I feel some homesick that I can hardly keep my lunch down. I go to sleep with a feeling of “I don’t want to be here…”. I know that this is just a temporary step in the direction of achieving my goals. It’s something to do while I am waiting to get into a medical residency, so I know it isn’t forever. But right now, I just want to be around a familiar place and speak to familiar people (even if it’s the cashier at my old grocery store).

ย 

12 Responses to “Homesick”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    *hugs*

  2. Steven (Up North) Says:

    I feel so bad for you buddy, I know you are having a tough time adjusting. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    As soon as Lemuel is finished… then a big hug from me also!

  3. Steven Says:

    Sorry that you are feeling this way. Know that we are always here for you in this “blogdom” of family. Eventually, this will be but a fleeting moment. (((((John)))))

  4. "Joe" Says:

    I am glad to hear from you and hope things will go better. Moving to a new place is always a bit disconcerting and even disorienting. It is a very stressful thing. Longing for the familiar, mourning that which is gone, and anxiety over that which is to come.

    Give yourself a break. And I know you may be missing someone, more than some place?

    Go easy. Take it slowly. Call friends. Be good to yourself.

    Shalom, hugs, prayers, and cheers.

  5. Matt Says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear that. I really think that’s one of the worst feelings to have.

    Make sure to take advantage of the friends and family you have. Phone calls are the best. It will get better.

  6. madhouse6 Says:

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. urspo Says:

    that hurts so.

  8. Troll at Sea Says:

    The first weeks leave you reeling.
    Hang on and try to find something besides work to get you out of the house.
    Good advice, which I failed to follow.
    Ain’t that always the way?

    “I give myself very good advice, but I very seldom follow it.”

    Cheers
    T@C

  9. Steve Rebooted Says:

    That is a tough emotion. Maybe you can plan a trip home when you have the most down time?

  10. Sam Says:

    Jm, hope you are doing better with the adjustments to the new place, routines, and life now. Are you in a good place?

  11. Robert Says:

    I’m sorry that you’ve been feeling a bit homesick, but you said it yourself that this is only temporary. ๐Ÿ™‚ Life isn’t much without sacrifices, yeah?

  12. Ninety Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Ninety!!

Leave a Reply

