Refreshed

I woke up a little groggy and because I felt my world turn a little bit, like someone was rocking my cradle. I could hear the end of the captain’s speech “temperature in Tampa now is…..we hope you enjoyed traveling with us….please place your trays in the upright position….we will land in Tampa momentarily…”. My heart started to pound with excitement and I looked down on the well lit airport and I could already feel my breathing less labored and my spirit more light.

Earlier this week, Andrew sent me the link to the Xanadu video. He sent it as a sort of joke, saying that one of his covers as a teenager was pretending to be in love with Olivia, while secretly loving that song.  Now this song is stuck in my head and I can’t get it out. As I looked down on the lights that littered Tampa, this song played in my mind.

Andrew, Ben, Josh and Mike were waiting for me and before I could help myself I ran to them like a child at an amusement park and threw myself into their arms, even giving Andrew a kiss on the cheek. I felt like it had been forever since I had seen any of them. Mike introduced me to this guy Justin that he started dating since I’ve been gone. Justin shyly whispered “you are the last hump I have to jump over before Mike can officially start liking me”. I laughed, “you came here, that officially ends your jumping and consider yourself liked”. It was so nice of him to come and say hello.

I can’t believe the kind of energy a few friends can give. Screw those energy drinks, I just need to be around these guys.

 

9 Responses to “Refreshed”

  1. Steven Says:

    Awwwwwwwe, you are home in more ways than one! ;.)…….

  2. Lemuel Says:

    What a wonderful “homecoming”!

  3. Troll at Sea Says:

    Let’s hear it for Tampa!

  4. Steven Says:

    I could feel the energy in this post. Thank goodness for great friends. You can never have enough hugs and kisses! 🙂

  5. Steve Rebooted Says:

    Friends can take ya the distance…..

  6. joeliustook Says:

    Hey, I was poked over to your blog a while back by a good friend of mine. I have some questions to ask you, and was wondering if you’d be willing to answer them for me? Just been doing a lot of soul-searching, and have a lot of questions, and my friend thought you’d be a good person to ask. Anyways, thanks, and cherish your friendships 🙂

  7. urspo Says:

    being around good energy people is stimulating!
    good for you for the kiss.

  8. Doug Says:

    That’s so sweet!

  9. Jim Says:

    Fantastic. My friends are so spread out and I feel like that whenever I get the chance to see them!

Leave a Reply

