Does It Make Us Complete?

I have been wondering about why people are so intent on having everyone they know paired?

Everytime a new actor rises, they want to know who she or he is dating. Everyone is so interested about the personal love life of the actor, no one cares if the actor is actually good in their trade.

Seriously, does dating someone automatically make someone whole? I have always felt okay alone. I accomplished many of my goals, by myself with only emotional support from family and friends. I dreamed about my goals alone and for the most part took the steps to make these dreams come true alone.

So there is that word…alone. And within that word, we can create lonely and loneliness. It has been tough, but I have survived it. If circumstances arose that would cause me to be alone again, I would survive it. I don’t want it, but I would survive it.

Since being in a relationship for the past few months, I have discovered that sometimes two heads are better than one. I have also discovered that there are days when I just want to be left alone. There are also days when I need to hear his voice and those little texts I get throughout the day gives me that certain push to go on. So I can certainly say that everyone should be in love. But if someone tells me that they are currently single, I don’t pursue the matter. Everyone has their own reasons for not being in one. It’s a personal choice.

So my answer is that on an emotional level, a relationship can complete a person. And right now, my emotions are complete.

8 Responses to “Does It Make Us Complete?”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    My sons (one 26, one 31) are being bombarded by in-laws asking about marriage and gf’s. It’s none of the in-law’s business as far as I am concerned. It is none of my business.

    I was struck by your analysis of your current relationship. In my head I was hearing “What I Like about You” (Mark Weigle) which rather echoes some of your sentiments: wanting someone who is his own person and let’s you be your own person, too, but the both are there for each other when you need each other.

  2. Troll at Sea Says:

    The fact of the matter is that two people in love form a third thing that is bigger than both of them separately. It cannot survive unless the two people each has enough time and space to continue as their own people, and it cannot survive unless they are willing to make sacrifices for the sake of the third thing. Once they start making sacrifices for the other rather than for the third, bigger, better thing, it can get really ugly really fast.

    It’s a challenge, but millions of people pull it off every day.
    How they do it is NOBODY else’s business.

    All the best
    T@C

  3. Robert Says:

    Given the most eligible gay bachelor, that still doesn’t mean that this person is going to find that special someone in his lifetime. It’s just life. Whether one’s single or attached or not, if he’s happy, he’s happy… he can’t help it.

    Hello JM.

  4. Kris Says:

    Amen brotherrr πŸ˜€ Yea, it’s crazy how the society makes it seem like there’s something wrong if you’re not paired with someone.

    I get like that too, at times I’d rather spend some time doing things on my own. Sometimes it’s a bit harder since we live together and all, and it took C- a while to actually get used to the idea that I do that.

    It’s a great feeling though, isn’t it? Knowing you have that person to turn to. Hugs

  5. Steven up North Says:

    We are just not meant to be alone, it doesn’t make you any less of a person because you are alone and we all know the pressure from people to be in a relationhip, but still it does complete us in many ways.

  6. Steven down South Says:

    “Complete” is a very vague term used here. I think “complete” could be be used to represent different terms; terms such as “in love”, “happy”, “content”, “respected.” All terms that I am happy to hear represent how you are today. πŸ™‚ Here’s to being complete and whole!

  7. Steve Rebooted Says:

    It sounds like you answered your own question, but I think the answer’s different for each person πŸ˜›

  8. urspo Says:

    people should never need/use another to make themselves whole; it won’t work. So get others, and a S.O. for supplementation.
    On the whole, People do better with others. In contrast I certainly know a lot of people best ‘left to themselves”!

Leave a Reply

