Football

Andrew is coming up this weekend and we are going to make a trip to my alma mater to watch some football.  He’ll get to meet some of my friends (the ones that already know because of a drunken blubbering friend of mine) and will hang out with another he already met.

I’m just a bit nervous. I know why I’m nervous, but it doesn’t make sense. I am afraid they won’t like him merely because we are a gay couple. I know that these friends have already accepted that I am gay. But I am afraid if they actually see the “lifestyle” (as so many have eloquently called it, they might have some objections and it will manifest itself as dislike of Andrew.

I am excited about seeing Andrew and showing him my school. I have a lot of good memories up there and it will be fun to share them with someone.

I hope everyone has a good weekend.

8 Responses to “Football”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    Relax, enjoy Andrew and the weekend!!

  2. Troll at Sea Says:

    You are striking a great blow for all of us by taking yr BF to a football game. Those of us who only confirm the stereotypes are suitably grateful.
    Have a wonderful time!
    T@C

  3. Doug Says:

    Troll has a good point: here’s your opportunity to show your friends that not all gays conform to the stereotypes. Anyway, if they have “objections,” that’s their problem. I know it’s easier said than done, and I might be nervous in the same position, but do your best to relax and enjoy your time with Andrew. Your friends might surprise you.

  4. Jim Says:

    Enjoy your weekend! These are your friends so they have accepted you already.

  5. Steve Rebooted Says:

    Enjoy yourself. Something tells me that all will go well….

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    Courageous move! Go for it! You can’t control what they think. Be yourself, let go of what they think. The truth and authenticity you live will come back in grace for you and for others.

    Cheers!

  7. urspo Says:

    walk proud and be not afraid or ashamed.

  8. Steven Says:

    I thought I recognized the two of you!! When I was marching into the stadium with the alumni band, I saw your beaming smile near the 30-yard line. You guys were laughing and having a great time. Hopefully the laugh wasn’t from my slip up on the slick astro turf they call a football field moments earlier. All this time and we didn’t know we attended the same alma mater! 😉

    All kidding aside, I hope that you and Andrew had a great time and that your friends were more supportive than ever! (((((John)))))

Leave a Reply

