Unlikely Candidate

Tim from Straight-Friendlynominated or rather passed along a prize to my blog/writing. He gave me The Superior Scribbler’s Award. This award is in recognition for blog writing. In turn I must recognize five other blog writers who I feel deserve this award.

I have recently discovered Tim’s blog. I don’t think it was mere coincidence that I happened on it. You see I’ve been praying for an answer to my religious struggles and the inner turmoil that has occurred since I’ve accepted myself as gay. I was brought up to think that being gay and religion were two separate entities, that they could not co-exist. However, on this journey I realized that they could…that my very being was immersed in my faith to God.

Tim’s last post was about thanksgiving. I’ve realized that I have so much for which I am thankful. First and foremost, I am thankful to the readers of my blog who have given me much needed advice. I don’t know what I would have done without the friendship you’ve offered along the way (and I promise this week to post about why I am thankful–but this post is about the awards).

There are many blogs which I have drawn strength from, all of you on my blogroll for example. But I have to narrow this down to five, and it was tough because I think all of you deserve it.

First here are the rules:

  • Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass The Award on to 5 most-deserving Bloggy Friends.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author & the name of the blog from whom he/she has received The Award.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must display The Award on his/her blog, and link to this post, which explains The Award.
  • Each Blogger who wins The Superior Scribbler Award must visit this postand add his/her name to the Mr. Linky List. That way, we’ll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who receives This Prestigious Honor!
  • One of the first blogs I would like to award this to is

    All Things But None. The author of this journal forces me to think, not only about things that I am searching for, but issues which I have never entertained. He posts beautiful pictures and then prose which cause me to sit pensively for moments after I’ve read and viewed them.

    Ink 2 Metal Works It Out. Just take a gander at this blog and you’ll find out why I like it so much. I often have to search and find the off button for the music that plays (not because I don’t like the music, but because I want to read and absorb the prose without the background noise). But in the author’s often funny tales, I always learn a little lesson.

    Let’s Just Say You’re Right. This man’s photo journalism is enthralling. I wish I had half the talent Jason does for capturing a thought in a photo. It always brightens my day to view his thoughts about everyday life through his photos.

    Spo-Reflections. This blog is just quirky and fun. But it also helped me along my journey towards discovering who I am and the normality of it all.

    David’s Tangled Thoughts. This blog posts about everything from political issues to the everyday life of David.

    These are the five that I chose and it was really difficult to narrow down my favorite reads. I hope that everyone takes a browse at these blogs and the others in my blogroll. Have a great evening!

     

     

    7 Responses to “Unlikely Candidate”

    1. Lemuel Says:

      Your writing is genuiine and true. You very richly deserve the recognition.

    2. urspo Says:

      I am glad you got some recognition for your blog.

      I thank you for the honor you gave me.
      I was away this weekend when you came by with it.

    3. David Says:

      In re: ^^

      See, I told you your writing touches people! 🙂

      Thank you for the award, but more importantly, thanks for being someone to talk with.

    4. (F)reddy Says:

      Wait. You’re gay?!?

      Congrats on the nod. Very much deserved.

    5. christopher Says:

      Congratulations on the award and recognition! Job well done.

      -C

    6. Stephen Says:

      Congratulations on the recognition. I am familiar with some of the blogs you chose and they are so deserving as well. I look forward to checking on the other ones.

    7. Robert Says:

      Congratulations JM!! You’re most deserving!! You write from the heart, and because there really is no other way.

      *blush* And I thank you!

    Leave a Reply

