Weird Dreams

I had a weird dream last night. I think it was just a extension of my fears.

Basically in the dream, I was with some friends in a church and we were waiting for the arrival of Jesus. In my dream, I was actually near His birthplace. Only there was a king who wasn’t going to allow me to see the baby. In fact this king didn’t even want me in the church. At the end of the dream, he was actually pursuing me, chasing me to get out of the church.

I think this is one of my fears. As I continue to climb out from behind the sweaters, jackets and clothing from the “safety” of my closet, I fear rejection. It’s very apparent. I get so insulted by the way some of my friends/family/coo-workers talk about issues like gay marriage or even homosexuality. Sometimes it shoves me backwards, other times I get so angry at their lack of compassion for other people’s feelings.

When I woke up from the dream, I was in rather sweaty. In the dream being chased by an angry king who wanted me thrown from the church was scary. I called Andrew to tell him about the dream. He laughed and made me realize that it was just a dream. He even guessed how it ended…me jumping from a window into the open sea. Wow–we are connected somehow.

But I don’t put much stock in dreams…for the most part I rarely remember them. This one just disturbed me.

I’ve got to run. I’m having lunch with my new friend Adam. He is trying to convince me to go to this club with his buddies. I told him I don’t dance. He said I don’t have to dance, but to just hang out. We’ll see…I’ll let you know.

7 Responses to “Weird Dreams”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    Everyone should have an Andrew!

  2. Robert Says:

    No one needs to chase me out of a church, I just won’t go! šŸ™‚

    It’s funny, sometimes when I do care about what other people think, but as soon as I realised that, I think back to myself: “Why is it that I care about what other people think in the first place?!?” I always feel much better after that particular thought. One lifetime – I’ve got to be me!

    xo, r

  3. Troll at Sea Says:

    JM:

    While you are finished worrying about being chased out of a church by a king, you can now worry about being chased out of a club by a queen: the ability to dance seems to rank somewhere up with size…

    Those of us born with two left feet are apparently doomed to be partners with disco bunnies. I tried lofty superiority the first time, but now I just admit I can’t do it–and the Goat is finally coming around to the obvious truth that I can’t be taught.

    Oh well.
    T@C

  4. Steven Says:

    I don’t think you were sweaty but just soaked from jumping into the sea. šŸ˜‰

    I look at your interpretation of the dream as a way that your body deals with “coming out.” As if it is happening gradually so that when you “come out” with flying colors, it isn’t a traumatic experience, but a memorable one. And I have a feeling you will be coming out in an involuntary way, such as after being “angered” or “insulted” like you mention above.

    Looking forward to hearing about your routine you did on the dance floor at the club! šŸ˜€

  5. deweydjb Says:

    I hate bad dreams. Especially if they do stay with you during the day. I would much prefer restful sleep. going and hanging out is fine! Though sometimes I find clubs far too noisy. I am more of a sitting around a table and chatting kind of guy and I hate it when I can’t hear what is going on!

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    Dreams tell us about our inner workings, expressing joys or anxieties. Of course the SOB king doesn’t want you to see the baby. But the Baby welcomes you. And all of us.

    I have lots of fears about being rejected. The worst reality, though, is all the years I rejected myself.

    I am becoming the best friend I’ve ever had.

  7. Tim Says:

    BearToast says it all. (Bravo, BT)

    But I can’t resist a little armchair Freud here. Maybe in jumping through the window, you were breaking out–shattering the concept of the church as the Baby’s home, and leaving the “king” to his own devices. Sigmund says water suggests birth; maybe the sea is your new awareness of self and acceptance.

    Or maybe it was just a dream…

Leave a Reply

