Dancing Shoes

In forty-five minutes I meet Adam, his friends (Brian, Doug, Paul), Chris and Phillip to go out to this club. They are expecting me to dance. I’m not quite sure whether I will or not.

Adam and his friends, and one day we were joined by Phillip, have spent the last three days trying to teach me how to dance. Brian said there is a natural rhythm about me, I just have to let loose a bit. I can’t let loose because I just don’t feel like moving my body like that. But for about an hour a day, we have hung out in Adam’s basement and danced. I will have to write a post about that. I even took a shot of tequila in hopes that maybe I would loosen up one night. To no avail. I still remained self-conscious and barely put a dent in my dancing shoes.

My friends are excited that I may cut a groove. I’m a bit terrified that I will be carried out onto the floor (Brian is a big big guy–over six foot and has already proven he can pick me up over his head) by Brian. He has already jokingly threatened to to so if I don’t go willingly. I know they won’t make a spectacle or make me do anything I don’t want to do. However, I feel like since they put three days in to show me some moves, I owe it to them to shake my butt a little.

Either way I know I’ll have fun. These are a great bunch of guys. I’m getting a little excited about going now.

Have a great rest of the weekend!

10 Responses to “Dancing Shoes”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    I am *so* terminally shy about getting out on a dance floor, altho all through my life I also *so* wanted to do it. I just sit at home and do my chair boogie.

    Go for it, JM! Go for it! Move and groove and let the devil take the hindmost!

  2. David Says:

    That’s right. Go for it, and a little Dutch courage is nothing to be ashamed of.

  3. Brad Says:

    Boogie if you want to, don’t if you’re not inclined. You’ll be cut either way!

  4. Brad Says:

    Ahem, cute that is!

  5. Robert Says:

    Are you gonna do the ‘polaroid’ or the ‘robot’??? Do the ‘robot’! πŸ™‚ Oh wait, no no… do the Safety Dance…. S-S-S-S A-A-A-A F-F-F-F E-E-E-E T-T-T-T Y-Y-Y-Y…. Well you know how that goes! πŸ™‚

  6. Steven Says:

    Looking forward to hearing about dancing like Tony Manero from “Saturday Night Fever”; without the white polyester suit, of course. πŸ˜€

  7. (F)reddy Says:

    I’m sure you’ll notice that not everyone “dancing” at a club looks like a pro. It takes a bunch of different styles to make a club. Just KEEP YOUR SHIRT ON, please!

  8. Greg C. Says:

    The best thing about dancing is it’s fun. just enjoy yourself whether you think you can dance or not. It’s not about that anyway; it’s about hanging out with your friends. They won’t care one way or another.

  9. Sam Says:

    Whenever i’m in a situation where forced to dance–yet don’t really feel like it–I WILL myself to be Edina Monsoon at the Disco. It’s fun, people always notice me and laugh alot, and, before i know it, i’ve morphed the moves into something else from my past.

    i’d LOVE LOVE LOVE to have 3 friends (re-)teaching me how to dance in the basement!! You are a lucky guy!

  10. midnightgardener Says:

    Look forward to hearing how it turned out. Hopefully, in the basement you figured you, as Greg C. mentioned, that having fun is really the key!

Leave a Reply

