Wall Flower

So let’s get this over with. First things first, I didn’t dance. I just didn’t feel like it. I don’t like the feeling of dancing and I really don’t think, or rather I know I don’t dance well. If I don’t feel like I’m doing something very well, I either practice (which Adam, Brian and Phillip all say they will help me with–they’ve even set up another practice day next week–really an excuse for everyone to get together and eat chips/dips/chocolate) or I just don’t attempt it at all.

We got to the club, the music was blaring and there were barely any people dancing. Mostly everyone was just making their claims on tables or doing shots at the bar. So of course, my friends didn’t go out onto the floor either. This to me was a good thing. If there are few people out on the floor the crowd will tend to watch and one can be more easily seen. So we claimed a table and I kept trying to talk myself into getting courage to go out there.

As the floor started to fill (during a course of about an hour), Adam said he wanted to dance. Brian said he wanted to dance and grabbed some of their friends to join him. Whew, I missed it!!! I was glad because I wasn’t quite ready to go out there.

Really, the whole night was spent just chatting with my friends…and turning down a few strangers who also asked me to dance. One guy tried to bribe me with a mixed drink of my choice. I did however meet some new people. There was a really cute older couple. I can’t remember their names, but they did say they came every Saturday to watch the “Young-uns cut a rug”. They actually said “cut a rug”. They told me that they have been a couple since the sixties, that for most of the sixties and seventies they told people they were single bachelor brothers living together. They said that they admired most of the people who could come out now and were surprised how far things have come.

So, I didn’t dance. Maybe the next time. But ten to one, probably not. I wasn’t made to dance. Now converse, that is one thing I can do!!

8 Responses to “Wall Flower”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    If you’re not feelin’ it, it’s ok, JM! I’m just hoping that you had a good time and had a chance to expand your circle of friends. We all can use as many as we can get!

    I chuckled at the “cut a rug” comment because my college rommate (*waaay* back in the late 60’s) used that expression and *even then* I thought it was archaic! (He, btw, is *very* homophobic. He remains a friend, but one that I would never deliiberately come out to. He was [is even now] a hottie [college wrestler]).

    And indeed I can relate to the couple and their comments about the times and how they handled it. It is part and parcel of why and what I am today. I rejoice for them that they have been able to move from then to where I long to be.

  2. Steven Says:

    Perhaps you will be more inclined to dance in the future as you get to know more and more faces in the crowd? I am glad to hear that you still had good time. Maybe next time? I don’t remember the 60’s – what does “cut a rug” mean? 😉

  3. (F)reddy Says:

    There’s a hot image…”bachelor brothers”!

    Maybe next time…

  4. Robert Says:

    Ahh, to me, it’s all about the music… I can’t dance to just anything. bleh! Yes yes, I’m a picky lil’ shithed. I used to just go to clubs by myself way early, dance for an hour [also by myself] and then go home. Sounds a bit lonely, but I always try to have a good time.

    Didn’t you have fun JM? If you did, that’s all that matters eh?

    xo, r

  5. Steven (up north) Says:

    Bruuuck buck buck! Chicken! Hahaha, with your life long view about you dancing I just knew you would worm your way out of this one! ;P

    Cool about your new buddies however, you go gay boy!!!

  6. Tim Says:

    I don’t dance either, John–for all the reasons you talk about. Worse than that, I’m not keen on practicing. When we’re out on a “dancing date,” I let Walt dance to his hearts content… with friends, strangers, it doesn’t matter. He’s just having fun and I’m more comfortable sitting on the sidelines. When I’ve made the effort, I’ve not been able to conceal how awkward I feel, which ruins it for him. So I’m happy to sit by and watch the young-uns cut a rug!

  7. BearToast Joe Says:

    Well, I love to dance, even though I’m not “good” at it. It’s for no one but me. ANd, I’ll dance to just about anything. Maybe it’s just my nervous energy.

    BUT, you were asked several times, and offered drinks. That says, you are a very attractive man (in all the senses of that word). SO, feel good about yourself.

    Especially, I am glad you had a good time. That’s the best thing.

  8. urspo Says:

    I liked to two step and waltz – I don’t care for social dancing either; it seems just to be gyrations and wiggling the ole behind.

Leave a Reply

