Favorites

One of my best friends is preparing his household for the birth of his third child. I think his youngest son is trying to wrap his head around the fact that he will have a younger brother or sister soon. Some of the questions that he asks makes me laugh, others make me feel for him. As they await the birth of this child, he and his brother often wonder where they will fit into the whole scheme of their family unit.

The younger son asked me on the phone (I often talk to my buddy Mark on speakerphone because Mark is multi-tasking and puts the phone on speaker) the other day who would be my favorite when the baby is born. When I told him that I don’t have a favorite, his older brother boasted “everyone has a favorite….people have favorite colors and favorite pizza toppings”. I told him that when it comes to people, there are no favorites. Once again this precocious first grader also had an answer “people have favorites, you are Daddy’s  favorite best friend”. When I asked him how he knew that, he said he just knew. And with that answer, he went back to doing his homework.

I was left trying to explain to this young child that the birth of the baby changes nothing, that he would still get the same amount of attention he always got from everyone. I could hear my buddy in the background chuckling at my attempt to soothe his young son.

Mark had the best explanation though. He told his two kids that when a baby is born for a family, the parent’s hearts grow bigger and so everyone gets more love.

7 Responses to “Favorites”

  1. Troll at Sea Says:

    Window Man:

    Well done, and in general your word holds true. But some children, like some adults, are unloveable, and some children, like some adults, are unloved.

    As GK Chesterton said, love is only a virtue if it is love of the unlovable.

    You and your best friend, and his sons, are very lucky, even if not virtuous.

    T@C

  2. Lemuel Says:

    When life comes to an end for your friend and his family (as well as for you) – and I hope that it will not happen for a long, long time – may you all have supersized hearts.

  3. Christopher Says:

    I think the father may have had the most poetic answer for a child’s question that I’ve yet to hear!

    You were doing pretty good holding your own there too!

    -C

  4. Steven Says:

    Mark knew to say the right thing at the right time. There was a period when I knew having the favorite or best friend was so offensive to other friends. I haven’t had best or favorites since. 🙂

  5. Peter Says:

    Only a kid could compare love of pizza-toppings with love for people. At least you know now you’re “Daddy’s favorite best friend”. [You knew that ofcourse already]

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    “you are my very favorite x yr. old; and he/she is my very favorite newborn.”

    When you got kids, you got to learn the answers.

  7. Steven Says:

    Mark is such a good Dad.

    Like a lot of my friends small children, I wonder how long will it take for Mark to hear “can we send the baby back?”

Leave a Reply

