Pieces of Pie

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve hit some personal bumps in the road. At times I dramatically thought, this is the end of the world for me. So I sulked, mostly in silence and kept things to myself. I hoped to resolve them on my own and didn’t want to show this weak, whiny side of me.

But Andrew forced me to talk about it. He explained to me that everyone needs a crutch sometimes and he let me lean on him and I started to feel better. It was nice to let it out, scream a little, stamp my feet a little and huff and puff, to reveal my anxieties. And then he let me beat him in tennis (although I’m pretty sure I could have taken him otherwise–but he could pound me into the ground with basketball).

Everyone has their hurdles and everyone’s hurdles are small or big based on how they view them. My best friend’s four year old son is desperately trying to come to terms with the fact that his Mom is going to have a baby in a couple months. He goes through feelings of being left out or being pushed to the corner. My nephew’s new hurlde this week is being grounded from playing with his handheld video games. To him, this is the end of the world. Suddenly, my hurdle doesn’t seem so high anymore. It’s all in our own perspectives and I’ve got pretty good calves, I could jump this SMALL hurdle.

The other day, while watching television, my friend Brian (I’ve posted about him before. He is my friend who is going through a horrible break-up) burst out laughing loudly. We were watching some show at Adam’s house and he found a comical moment funny. He couldn’t stop and when his laughter was done, he turned to me and said “wow that felt good”. During his break-up, whenever we would meet, I would bring him a box of candy. After he laughed out loud, he stood up, went to the kitchen and got a box he hadn’t yet consumed, handed it to me and said “I really needed you, thank you”.

With that small gesture, I knew that I too was going to be alright. I also realized that most people don’t get over these hurdles without the help of their friends. I’m glad that I have these people in my life, these pieces of life’s pie.

8 Responses to “Pieces of Pie”

  1. Urspo Says:

    friends are very good to help us over the hurdles, and to make sure we don’t do silly things like not go forward.
    no doubt you are going to be alright. most ‘end of the world’ times are never that. I’ve had 6 of them !

  2. Robert Says:

    Hurdles is right… to me, they’re like G_d’s little pop quizzes. Whether we pass or fail, we go on to the next one regardless of grades. haha!

    I’m really glad that you [and Brian] are feeling better. Take care luff.

  3. Jim Says:

    Everyone one of those hurdles makes you see life in a different, hopefully better, perspective. The trick is to see it as better 🙂

  4. Lemuel Says:

    Friends are the healing salve for all of life’s bruises!

  5. Steven Says:

    Glad to see those hurdles losing height and seeing you step over them with the help of your friends. But I’m still trying to picture you screaming a little and stamping your feet. 😉

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    Hang in and hang on. Way will open.

  7. A Lewis Says:

    Oh yeah, bustin’ out laughing is good medicine. Keep at it!

  8. zack Says:

    I loved this entry, so true and from personal experience so tough to relaize till you have enough perspective from what you’re going through. 🙂 Nice Blog!

Leave a Reply

