No Matter What You Say

I’ve realized that no matter what you say, people are going to talk. If you talk to much, people are going to refute your testimony, if you don’t talk enough, people will fill in the gaps.

I don’t talk a lot at work. First of all, there is a lot to be done. I’m getting paid to work, so I finish my agenda. There are days when there is so much to do, I don’t even get a break to sit down and eat. And this is fine by me. I like to stay busy. So being busy means less social time. I do often have a meal with one or two co-workers, but that’s about it. And these are basically the only co-workers that I really communicate with–at work and outside of work. I’m not a snob, I just would rather accomplish certain goals and get things done.

It isn’t difficult to hear the things other co-workers say about one another, especially when others are out of ear shot or have the day off. There are all kinds of rumors that circulate because no one clears the air. So I wonder what is said about me? There is a little part of me that is curious. There is also a part of me that doesn’t care (well I care a little, otherwise I wouldn’t be venting here). I just wonder why people make the effort to either create a story (some don’t even have a foundation to stand on) or why they are so interested.

If a person doesn’t tell you something about their lives it’s because these things are personal and for the most part, maybe they just don’t want to take the time to explain anything to a stranger, or someone they consider just a co-w0rker. But of course, things wouldn’t be interesting unless you had something to talk about around the water cooler.

5 Responses to “No Matter What You Say”

  1. Robert Says:

    Haha! You talk about others and others will talk about you. You never speak a word and people will STILL talk about you. It’s a funny bit. When I was working, I had my headphones on the majority of the day. I was lucky since I had the luxury… I much prefer music over chatters.

    How have you been JM? I hope things are peachy this spring for you.

    xo, r

  2. Steven Says:

    I would probably go crazy if there wasn’t a lot of conversation around Village Hall. And each department seems to express a different personality. Regarding the “personal” aspect, I was assumed to have led a boring life until I came out to some of my colleagues and was able to say what I did over the weekend (never TMI info). 🙂

  3. Urspo Says:

    Oh, you mustn’t worry about what others think.
    Vanity And happiness are incompatible.

  4. BearToast Joe Says:

    0f course, you could start something, and really give them something to talk about . . . .

  5. midnightgardener Says:

    Ha ha…I like Joebear’s idea. When you know you have an environment just rife with gossip, sometimes, the only thing to be done is to lay the seed for some totally over-the-top story…just so you can watch their well-oiled clockwork network grind into action.

    Of course, the headphones sound like an att ractive option, too. ; )

Leave a Reply

