Synchronized

Andrew and I have been carrying on a long distance relationship for over a year. We talk a lot (I’m so grateful for mobile to mobile free minutes and texts). He sends me hundreds of texts a day because our schedules are so different. I love the break I get to take when I hear that musical alert.

One activity that we also do is watch DVDs together even though we are hundreds of miles away (and I’m grateful for blue tooth technology which allows me to watch a movie and talk to him at the same time). He and I buy the DVDs, mail each other a copy and pick a day when we can sit on the phone and watch them together. The only thing that irks me, but makes Andrew laugh because I get so annoyed, is the fact that while we watch these movies one track is always ahead of the other. Even if I count to three and say press play now, they never seem to start and finish at the same time.

I have realized over this wonderful year that this is one of those relationship snags. We have different schedules and that’s alright. But when we do come together, it is synchronized. He came to visit this weekend. As we fell asleep and he held me, I felt his breathing against my back (the rise and fall of each breath). Before long I noticed that my own breathing started to mimic his and then I lost myself in his arms.

8 Responses to “Synchronized”

  1. Urspo Says:

    that was the loveliest thing I have read in a long time
    You are a very fortunate man.

  2. Robert Says:

    Haha! Love this! I cannot wait for one day you two will be together, living together under the same roof!!

  3. Peter Says:

    You can’t be all the time in the same rhythm, it would make life boring, but when it does [that rhythm] it’s a wonderful feeling. Enjoy!

  4. Jim Says:

    Its a small snag, plus it sounds like you’ve made the rest work!

  5. Greg Says:

    I love the DVD viewing; I never thought of doing that. Wonderful post.

  6. Lemuel Says:

    Marvelous! What a wonderful picture you paint! Your time with Andrew makes me sigh deeply!

  7. Troll at Sea Says:

    JM:

    What a lovely post.
    Be grateful for what you have…
    T@C

  8. matty03 Says:

    that is so sweet!

    …time for someone to move!!!!

    try not to watch any movies with surprise endings or scary bits because then one of you might gasp or shriek informing the other to ready himself for a cinematic shock!

Leave a Reply

