It’s Not Unusual

Last night I was watching a popular television show and they introduced a gay character, or at least showed a character’s hidden closeted side. It didn’t occur to me as out of place until my buddy Adam had said “do you notice that there are more gay characters on television now”?

We got into a discussion about how television shows and movies have become more realistic now that the straighties have let the gays into the story lines. The fact that our existence outside of the typical stereo-type was acknowledged had intrigued us both.

I’m thinking back to ten or fifteen years ago, when it was unheard of to have gay characters or story-lines interwoven with the lives of the straighties. I think about how a young gay person might perceive this, how they could interpret their own feelings as “abnormal”, part of the skewed numbers that exist outside the curve. We’ve come a long way. Now if we could just have the happy ending that most stories are built upon.

I’m getting to where I’m suppose to be with my feelings, my acceptance of myself, and with the inner turmoil which was mostly brought upon myself by my own self-esteem issues. Seeing something like this on television helps. We aren’t those numbers that exist outside the curve. We are part of that curve, a huge part of it.

7 Responses to “It’s Not Unusual”

  1. Peter Says:

    It’s something I’ve noticed too in American TV-series. Here in Europe it has started a bit earlier, especially here in the Netherlands. In the late 70’s openly gay presenters on kids and mainstream shows, gay characters in comedies and I don’t mean caricatures. Gay people in commercials.

    We’re not different than other people, most have a nose, a mouth, two ears and eyes… not always in the right places but who cares!

  2. Doug Says:

    That’s really cool, and it’s the way things should be. Nothing like visibility and positive role models to show us we matter.

  3. Lemuel Says:

    Just yesterday, on her day off, my wife decided to watch what was once her favorite soap opera years ago. It is scheduled to end in the near future. Later she was telling me about the story line of the episode (which was not far removed from the story line or the characters 30+ years ago!). The one change was that there had been the introduction of the lesbian relationship of two of the characters. It appeared that it was treated as a matter of fact. There is no way that such a plot line would have been introduced 30 years ago.

  4. Urspo Says:

    Right.
    I hope being gay is no more eyebrow raising than any other type of person.

  5. Jim Says:

    You’re right, the media has been catching up a bit. I’m sure there are still a few sad types that think being gay is abnormal. Fortunately I know noone who would listen to them. Or care even if they did listen.

  6. Steven Says:

    Back in my day, I seem to recall only two characters on television’s line-up. It’s good to see the better exposure as long as it is not done at our expense.

  7. Rob Says:

    It’s good to have more gay characters on TV — as long as they are not presented as deviant freaks.

    Look at the new show “Kings” where the crown prince is secretly gay. He isn’t exactly portrayed favorably…..out at night carousing in the gay clubs.

Leave a Reply

