It’s About Forgiveness

I know that sometimes forgiving is hard to do. But my parents have always taught me that forgiving someone and saying sorry are two fundamentals in surviving relationships, whether they be friends, family or others. And I’ve learned this golden rule.
I have found out that holding on to grudges can be detrimental, both mentally and physically. It can just wipe a person out. I think that keeping anger inside also wreaks havoc on a person’s personality.

One of my good friends is going through some major drama in his life. He asked me what he should do. I told him that one thing he needs to do is to let go of the anger. And then I told him to forgive her.

A few weeks ago he told me that he said to himself, I forgive her.  He then sent her a message saying all was forgiven and that he wished her nothing but the best. He told me that all at once the burden was lifted and that he suddenly felt better. I’m so glad that I gave him that advice, cause now he can begin to heal.

6 Responses to “It’s About Forgiveness”

  1. Urspo Says:

    forgiveness is the hardest thing; it is necessary for healing. It is also one of the most misunderstood things, so people often don’t get it right.

  2. Lemuel Says:

    You gave sage advice to your friend. We waste much energy and creativity when we refuse to forgive. We free ourselves to live when we do.

  3. Peter Says:

    It’s just 3 simple words but saying them, and meaning them [!], is sometimes hard to do.

    In the mean time those simple words make life easier.

  4. Steven Says:

    I think I would lose about 10 pounds if I was able to let go of my grudges. I need to get more in the habit. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Robert Says:

    Forgiveness is one of the hardest things, and yet the easiest thing to do. I think the trick is how one sees the world as a whole.

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    Forgiveness is not always easy; sometimes it must happen in its own time. In the words of another “Forgiveness means not wanting to hit back. But it doesn’t mean you want to invite them for lunch.”

    Life is about a series of letting go’s.

Leave a Reply

