What Do You Hope For?

This afternoon while having lunch with one of my high school classmates, his co-worker mentioned that  he wasn’t a believer in anything. He didn’t believe in an afterlife (he said his motto is live for the moment because after this, it’s all gone). He said he stopped praying because we end up making our own paths, the choices we make will ultimately land us the dream job, the happiness we seek, or the rewards we want to reap.

I didn’t know how to argue with his logic. While it sounds good and for lack of a better word, logical, it still left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Being devoutly Christian, I still believe in God, my Lord and Savior. I still pray and these prayers have been answered or are in the process of becoming reality.

I’m not a shove religion down a wind pipe type person. So I just listened to his take on the subject. I didn’t have any input except when he asked if I believed in anything, I told him I was a practicing Catholic. He had no reply. My high school classmate, also didn’t have anything to add to the conversation. Eventually the topic changed to politics.

I wonder, when in despair or utter happiness, what goes through his mind?

8 Responses to “What Do You Hope For?”

  1. Peter Says:

    It’s the journey to the final destination that should be filled with happiness and laughter. Even when you sometimes make a wrong turn or move from the path and end-up in a dead-end street, you learn from your own mistakes, just turn around and try again. The journey is called L.I.F.E.

  2. Lemuel Says:

    I think that it was wise of you not to argue with his logic, nor to impose your faith on him, but rather to quietly state, as you did, that you are a Christian.
    I try not to force my faith on anyone, but I will not deny it. I hope that how I live speaks louder and more positively about the nature of my faith than my words.

  3. Robert Says:

    I think being a ‘believer’ in religion can make or break a person. It can be a beautiful or a dangerous thing if not utilized wisely. I myself am quite fond of the teachings of Buddhism, but I’m not a buddhist. I’m a believer, but not of any Gods or religion.

    Whether I’m in despair or elated, it is just another reminder for me that there’s an absolute reason why I exist.

  4. Urspo Says:

    I guess he does something. We are hard wired to do something, even if it is superstition or ritual – people don’t always call it that.

  5. Steven Says:

    Robert, beautifully spoken only when you come to the full realization in the form of religion or not.

  6. BearToast Joe Says:

    Well said, sir.

    I’d say, it’s not about believing IN something, but beholding the Mystery.

    I hope your friend will come to behold It.

  7. Kapitano Says:

    How do atheists cope with despair and depression?

    We turn to our friends, to happier memories, our partners, sex, food, alcohol, drugs, pills, art and music. And we try to find something to just get on with.

    In other words, we cope, or fail to cope, in exactly the same way as religious believers. We just have one less coping strategy.

    It’s not difficult to see why some people turn to religion – as in church, ceremony and community or as in actual faith in God – when they’re depressed, and drift away from it when they no longer need the emotional support.

  8. Steven Says:

    I could think of a few choice words that go through his mind when in despair, but I won’t repeat them here. I follow the same logic as you do, but I actually started questioning myself this past week thinking that our beliefs somehow lead us on the straight and narrow (no pun intended here) and keep us from going crazy, particularly through prayer. Hard to explain, but it’s like an accepted “avenue” to talk with God rather than being seen as if one is talking to himself….A way of self-expression without the need for other humans to see that “expression.”

Leave a Reply

