Wrong Pick

My co-workers had been telling me that they want to set me up. None of them know I’m gay (I haven’t told them and if they suspect anything, they haven’t said anything). Curious to see who they wanted to set me up with, I asked. It turns out they want to set me up with a new female physician that just started working in the hospital. They said the two of us would be perfect together. We had the same sense of humor and I was told we would make “beautiful babies”. Why do women always go from dating to marriage (zero to sixty in less than 30 secs)?

I laughed and didn’t ask about it again. A few days later, we ran into her in the cafeteria. And so we were introduced. She is beautiful! She works out by jogging and swimming (so her body is perfect). She has an amazing smile (perfect straight white teeth). She looked me straight in the eye during all our conversations and even touched my arm a few times while we talked. She has a great voice too, soft with just a hint of southern in it. And she made me laugh. The only thing that was wrong is…she isn’t a man.

If I were straight, I would have fallen in love in less than thirty seconds (zero to sixty in about fifteen).

6 Responses to “Wrong Pick”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    I burst out in laughter at your first “zero to sixty” comment (about dating to marriage [and babies]), but I also had to grin at your reprise of the comment after you had seen the woman.
    I find nothing wrong in that. It’s in our genes to appreciate beautiful things. πŸ™‚

  2. Robert Says:

    Co-workers can be so funny sometimes. Sometimes. πŸ™‚

  3. Steven Says:

    Try it. You might like it. πŸ˜‰ JUST KIDDING!

    Just when you thought you’re co-workers knew you. But I wonder if any of those co-workers would be equally supportive and continue as match-maker for the perfect man. Perhaps they could make you fall in love in less than fifteen seconds (zero to sixty in about seven-and-a-half)? πŸ˜€

  4. Urspo Says:

    of course if you came out they could fix you up with a nice young man, just saying…

  5. Peter Says:

    What would happen if the new female physician tells she’s a lesbian… than you both had the last laugh! πŸ˜‰

  6. Kapitano Says:

    Ah yes, the woman who makes you think “If she were a man I’d marry her”.

    Not that I’ve ever met a man who made me think “If he were a woman I’d turn straight”.

    I get more annoyed with straight people who try to do gay matchmaking. They think “A is a bear, and B is a cub, so they go together”, “A is older and assertive, so we need to find someone younger and submissive, ‘cos that’s how gay relationships work”.

Leave a Reply

