I’m Back, Yet Again

It always seems like I go away and then come back. I’ve never really left. I’m here and I lurk on your blogs. No excuses, cause often times I do have things to write, I just…no excuses. I can’t justify my lack of posts or comments.

I did however find some good movie (gay themed–I don’t want to categorize them, but the on-line movie site I belong to categorizes them in that section and yes, that is where I looked for them). Really good scripts, really good acting, and good directing. Placing them under the heading “gay” helped me to locate them, but at the same time, something about categorizing them made me think about labels.

I’ve never really liked labels, and organizing anything by a stereo-type or characteristic. Why can’t something or someone just be? I figure as long as we can classify something, we can point a finger at it. We can use these classifications to place honor, praise, poke fun, and even blame. Since my slow venture out of the closet, I’ve learned not to categorize anything. I try not to judge or tell another person what I think of anyone else.

I’ve always been taught that change starts with just one person. And I’m hoping that the example that I’ve set (hopefully a good one), will live on through the people I’ve encountered and those lives that I’ve impacted.

4 Responses to “I’m Back, Yet Again”

  1. Urspo Says:

    “I’ve always been taught that change starts with just one person. And I’m hoping that the example that I’ve set (hopefully a good one), will live on through the people I’ve encountered and those lives that I’ve impacted.”

    I believe this to be true. You are a wise man.

  2. BearToast Joe Says:

    Categories can be helpful. When we turn them into stereotypes, we are moving into dangerous territory. When we sit in judgment of others, we’ve gone astray.

    Categorizing can be OK. It’s the judging others that’s kills. us.

  3. BearToast Joe Says:

    And . . . . . it’s good to hear from you again.

  4. David Says:

    Do you have any recommendations? I just sent back Bear Cub back to Netflix. I liked it but was put off by the drug use.

Leave a Reply

