No Where Else I’d Rather Be

Last week I went to visit my best friend’s family. His children are pretty much considered mine. And last week, he and their Mom took advantage of this fact, by asking if they could sneak away for a few days when I came up to visit. Of course, I obliged. I knew they needed some alone time ( the last time I gave them alone time, the third child was the result).

One of my nights pretty much went like this……

I was feeding the baby (he’s 14 months–but he’s the baby–and his middle name and mine are the same) who wanted to hold the spoon on his own. He got most of the food on me and himself. Every time I feed him, there is usually a huge mess made and I smell like baby food for hours (even after a shower). Anyway, while feeding him, I kept saying “please quit touching the spoon kiddo”. So thinking I needed help, his 5 year old brother sat beside me (not really helping but playing with his hand held game console). When the baby saw the console, he reached out and grabbed leaving a huge smear of baby food on it. This caused the 5 year old to cry saying “the instructions say no food or drink on this toy”. His six year old brother chimed in “no toys at the dinner table”. The 5 year old then said “I was helping”.  And then war broke out between the two brothers–a yelling match and fists were drawn (no punches thrown though). The baby smiled the whole time because at this point, the video console was in his hands.

But at the end of the day when I tucked the three in for night and whispered “I love yous” were said, I knew there was no place else I would have rather been.

3 Responses to “No Where Else I’d Rather Be”

  1. Peter Says:

    A Godfather’s job is not an easy one.

  2. BearToast Joe Says:

    Ah, the joys of children! There shall be stars in thy crown! A big gift you’ve given them. Lets hope it doesn’t make for number 4

  3. Urspo Says:

    how lovely; thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

