Hush

Sometimes I feel a bit misplaced. When I’m with my straight friends, I feel less compelled to talk about my personal life and to stay away from topics about being gay, particularly my love life. While they can give detailed accounts of some woman they just met, how she makes them smile or that this may be the one, I am left to just saying “Dave and I are doing fine”.

It may be my own perception. It could very well be my hesitation to talk about it. But the vibe seems to be, “okay, that’s enough…let’s not talk about it anymore”. Does anyone else have this sort of feeling/experience.

4 Responses to “Hush”

  1. Raybob Says:

    I generally don’t give a flying ____ what my friends’ vibe is: I get to say exactly the same types of things they say. That’s called “equality”. If they’re uncomfortable, they need to figure out how to get used to it: people are lawfully marrying persons of their own sex now in many countries and many states. It IS the reality of the world.

  2. Peter Says:

    Please John don’t stay in your own made closet, they know how good you are with your patients/clients. They don’t give a f*ck who you’re with as long you’re happy with that person.

    {{{{Hugs}}}}

  3. Urspo Says:

    Remember that among straight men, they are not ones to talk about feeling and relationships in depth – they don’t want details.
    Gay men do more talking/details etc. So what you are experiencing may be more cultural than not.

  4. Urspo Says:

    Say now, no more ‘hush’ – speak up and blog and talk to us! We miss you!

Leave a Reply

