Friend Zone

How do you know when you have entered the friend zone? I am a chicken. I am too afraid to have the conversation because I’m afraid he’ll pull away and I will lose the friendship. It’s fear of rejection. I’ve had that fear all my life. Fear of coming out of the closet because of the repercussions that may result. Fear of intimacy and of opening up.

I feel like this person likes me. I know that we get along and think the same way. We like the same food, enjoy one another’s company and have conversations that last forever. Our first dinner together lasted 5 hours–non-stop conversation. Many of our meals last that long. And yet, neither one of us have made a move. I need some sound advice. None of my friends know what to think.

I do not want to lose the friendship, more than anything else, I cherish this friendship more than I have any other friendship for a long time. Not that anyone’s friendship means less to me. I hope I am making myself clear, in an over dramatic manner. You get my drift.

Maybe I’m feeling this way because I’m watching “He’s Just Not That Into You”. Sappy and comical movie. Maybe the title has already explained the answer I’m looking for.

One Response to “Friend Zone”

  1. Urspo Says:

    Fear of rejection makes one do foolish things and keep folks who are not good for us. If this is a real friend there will be no fears.

Leave a Reply

