Social Media

For Lent, I thought I would truly do something for myself–and give up one form of social media (the really popular one where friends connect with friends–dare I mention it, less I get millions of hits). I chose to give up social media because I spend way too much time on it. I first joined to “keep in touch” with my friends. However, I think I now know more than enough. I know their ups,downs, their political and religious views, what their kids are doing, what their friends are doing etc…etc..etc… And it has gotten to the point where I wonder where my friends are if they don’t post, if they don’t let me know that they are eating chicken for dinner. After work, and even while at the gym, I stop to check people’s status.

So far, so good. I do have the urge to check though…but I am going to force myself to get through the forty days.

I will however continue to write here, as it is therapeutic!!

3 Responses to “Social Media”

  1. Urspo Says:

    I abstained from FB during Lent 2014; it was odd at first then I discovered there was all this pleasant free time. It is a good situation.

  2. David Says:

    My facebook friends just share what they find on the internet that is interesting. It is beginning to remind me more and more of reddit.

  3. Steven Says:

    But did you update your status to “not updating my status”? I only blog, text and email, not interested in learning more. But playing on my smartphone is addictive, like right now, I am supposed to be doing something else….darn it.

Leave a Reply

