Rainy Days and Sundays

I am sitting in a coffee shop, it’s rainy outside, everyone else is on their laptop and a John Mayer song is playing. What a mood right? The consolation is that it isn’t snowing. I’ve grown tired of the snow and maybe it is age, but it truly has played with my nerves, creating an unpleasant person.

I have a friend who goes into a funk during the winter time. He isn’t as active and becomes quite reclusive during this time of year. I recall studying this in psychiatry class (seasonal affective disorder). He takes Vitamin D and leaves for a cruise in early February. The cruise always “cures” this ailment, its a 360 turn around when he steps off the plane. Perhaps I am also affected by this, just not diagnosed (not as severe though). And I don’t mean to poke fun at it, but I do notice that my mood is terrible. My motivation isn’t affected and I need to leave the house on days like this (as opposed to those who want to curl up under a blanket in front of a fire and sip wine or cocoa–although that would be nice if a partner were involved). I think in my mind it’s more “you shouldn’t leave the house” that causes my desire to do so.

But I am enjoying this rain as it melts the “dirty” piles of snow which have been shoved into corners and the end of driveways and walkways. When snow first falls, its beautiful, turning forests and garden into sculptured wonderlands. And then sometimes turns it gray and filthy.

Okay, I’ve gotta stop as I realize I am brining everyone else down into my mood funk…

One Response to “Rainy Days and Sundays”

  1. Urspo Says:

    drink tea.

Leave a Reply

